Wanted: the media that we need

Wanted: the media that we need

                Is the media we want the same as the media we need? Not entirely. Allan had a great quote that said “This world, as presented by the media, is not the real world but a ‘cut and paste’ assembly of what is the media’s position on a subject at a certain time. (http://edgington1812.wordpress.com/) ” . Ellen reinforces this idea “the media may be seen as brainwashing people into what they are seeing and not giving the full truth about many stories. (http://em12jk.blogspot.ca/)” I completely agree with both Allan and Ellen, the media only wants you to see what they want you to see (which bringing it back to the last entry is what you want to see). For example if CBC is doing a story about happiness in Africa, they are going to show very little, if any examples of unhappy, hungry, sick people in Africa. On the flip side if they want to show a place hit by an earthquake they are not going to show a person whose damage to his house was a single shingle fell off, no they would show a house that completely collapsed. We don’t need media that shows only half the story; we don’t need media to further build up celebrities that majority contribute nothing but entertainment (some of which don’t even contribute that) to society. Today’s media is not all dark and gloomy but often is saturated with celebrity gossip which for the most part is unnecessary but unfortunately is necessary for the media provider to stay above water. Brandon said “media is required to do this now to satisfy their majority audience and survive as a company or a source of media (http://brandonlewis94.wordpress.com/)” which sums up why we are now bombarded with celebrity news. I can’t say personally I am against celebrities because some celebrities I do appreciate, but I am not naïve enough to believe that they are essential to society, which they seemingly have become.
                Media being filled now with cultural news it’s getting harder to find useful media like political and economic. Unfortunately I can’t say I look for news like that very hard, which is mostly to do with fact it is often times boring. I’m not saying all useful media is boring but often times it is, therefore I don’t search for it unless it is a major news story, and even then I am still the last to know about it in many circles. This is no one’s fault but my own, I think I should be better updated on important events but unless its tweeted by someone on my twitter or a story on Facebook there is a good chance I won’t hear about it which is sad.         

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment